ITU announces nominees for Hall of Fame

By Erin Greene | 30 Jul, 2014

The International Triathlon Union is pleased to announce the nominees for the first-ever ITU Hall of Fame.

“The sport of triathlon has been blessed with athletes pushing the limits of sport since the very first World Championships in Avignon 25 years ago,” said ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado. “We look forward to honouring and celebrating their accomplishments, alongside those that have built the sport into what it has become today.”

A total of 25 individuals have been shortlisted for the first annual induction, with a maximum of nine of those nominated to be inaugurated into the Hall of Fame in September.  The nominations are divided into the below categories of elite female and male athlete accomplishments, as well as lifetime achievements in the sport of triathlon.

Elite Women Elite Men Lifetime Achiever
Erin Baker, NZL Mark Allen, USA Gunnar Ericsson, SWE
Emma Carney, AUS Rob Barel, NED Chiharu Igaya, JPN
Vanessa Fernandez, POR Brad Beven, AUS Les McDonald, CAN
Jackie Gallagher, AUS Hamish Carter, NZL
Loretta Harrop, AUS Simon Lessing, GBR
Siri Lindley, USA Chris McCormack, AUS
Barb Lindquist, USA Peter Robertson, AUS
Michellie Jones, AUS Spencer Smith, GBR
Carol Montgomery, CAN Miles Stewart, AUS
Karen Smyers, USA Greg Welch, AUS
Emma Snowsill, AUS Simon Whitfield, CAN

Nominees in the men’s and women’s category were selected based on the criteria that each has a championship title in one or more ITU World Championships, Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, World Cup Series, and/or ITU World Rankings. Lifetime Achievement Nominees were selected based on their extraordinary, long-term contributions off the field of play or through an exceptional contribution to ITU and the sport of triathlon.

The induction ceremony will take place during the 2014 Edmonton World Triathlon Grand Final closing ceremonies banquet with more than 4,000 athletes and dignitaries in attendance.

In addition to the Hall of Fame, ITU will celebrate its 25th year as an international federation by publishing a commemorative 25 year anniversary book and will hold its final Executive Board of the year meeting in Avignon, France, where ITU’s first Congress was held in 1989.

Inductees for the Hall of Fame will be announced by August 15. For full information on the achievements of each individual, click here. Additional details on the selection process can be found here.

Latest Regional News
more news →